Skip to content

There are three types of people, which one are you?

When it comes to weight loss, health and fitness, in my experience – and talking in very broad, general terms – there are three types of people:

  1. Know what to do, getting on and doing it.
  2. Don’t know what to do, confused, a bit lost, frustrated and fed up.
  3. Know what to do, but not bloody doing it!

Category 1

So those folks in category 1, and there could well be some of them reading this now, are the folks who have taken a bit of time to sift through the bull***t that pervades diet and health markets, they’ve figured out the basics of eating a whole-foods based diet, they understand the benefits of movement and exercise, they are consistent with their actions and they are getting results.

Category 1 – it feels good, it’s a good place to be! It took me two decades, but I got there in the end and have been enjoying it ever since!

Category 2

Now category 2 is a frustrating place to be. I was there for those two decades from late-teens to mid-30s. I wanted to lose weight, I wanted to be fit, I wanted to feel better and make my body look better but I was lost in the land of diet confusion. Sometimes it’s easy, once we have some knowledge of diet and nutrition and exercise, to think “everyone knows what to do, if they are not doing it they are just lazy” but that just isn’t true.

A lot of people genuinely don’t know what to do. When newspapers print stupid headlines telling you that drinking wine is as good for you as going to the gym, it’s no wonder a lot of folks are confused and frustrated. Luckily, some nice people (me ha ha!!) have figured it all out and now give it to you for free. If folks want genuine, no-nonsense, gimmick-free healthy living advice, then they can go hereand hereand here and get lots of help for free. No catch, no sign-up, no adverts, just free, honest healthy living advice.

Category 3

Then that leaves category 3 – the large chunk of our population who know what to do, but don’t do it. When I deliver my much-acclaimed full-day seminar I often ask a room full of people “Who knows it’s healthier to eat fewer burgers and chips and more vegetables?” and all hands in the room go up. I will ask “Who knows it’s healthier to get some regular exercise rather than just sitting on the sofa staring at the TV all the time?” and again every hand in the room goes up.

Then I ask “OK, so you all know what to do. Who’s doing it?”

This time, maybe a third to a half of the room will put their hand up.

In my experience, a considerable percentage of the population know what to do, but they’re not doing it. Folks know they need to eat less processed food, more fresh whole foods and particularly vegetables. Folks know they should exercise daily, and they have a £50-per-month gym membership, but they don’t go, and night after night they sit on the sofa watching TV eating bags of crisps and drinking cans of lager!

Why?

Ah everyone has their reason. Coping with stress. Too tired. Life threw me a curveball. Relationship issues. Work hassles. Boss is an arse. Financial troubles. Demanding kids. Got a shoulder injury. Too busy, never got the time.

Been there, done that

Personally, I’ve been there and done that. I’ve used every one of those excuses a thousand times, and many more besides. In time, I changed my mindset which empowered me to move from Category 3 into Category 1, and now I enjoy the results.

Mother Nature’s Diet can, of course, help people in all 3 categories.

The folks in Category 1 are doing great…I know they are, because some of them are MND customers already and they tell me they are doing great!

For the folks in Category 2 who need to know what to do, my clear, straight-talking common-sense book sorts fact from fiction and delivers a kick-start plan to get things moving in the right direction.

For folks in Category 3 who need a kick up the backside to get moving and then ongoing support to keep moving, then we have a subscription club called MND Life! to help feed education, inspiration and motivation in even balance, to provide ongoing support to help you learn and grow and keep moving forward. It’s about breaking through those excuses holding you back, networking with other like-minded people who are sharing your journey and can help you push through the barriers and keep making forward progress.

If you like, come join us, and let’s shift you from Category 2 or 3 into Category 1.

Well, come on then, what are you waiting for? No excuses, let’s go.

To your good health!

Karl

No comments yet

Leave a comment